RIP Amy and Lucian

Publié le par english-teacher-him-and-you

http://fdrouin.free.fr/wordpress/wp-im2008/freud_queen.jpgTwo important persons for the British culture disappeared last week. The first person is the famous Amy Whinehouse (love the name for an alcoholic) and the second one is Lucian Freud.

As you know Amy, I will focus on Lucian Freud. He was Sigmund Freud's grandson and one of the biggest painter of the 20th century. He made a potrait of the Queen which arose a big controversy as it was not really flattering. He was one of the most expensive painter of the world.

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
L
hey !!<br /> <br /> my trip in germany was really great fun !! oh and the germans are so tall !! i could easily wear 10cm heals and still look small ^^<br /> we visited tons of boring stuff, but we had lots of time out, so we had parties and there was the dult !<br /> i was a little drunk the first time, then i prefered going on rides everytime we went... being drunk is fun, but then you look silly, you smell like alcohol and it's horrible the next day ;( so i<br /> only drank little the next days ^^<br /> claude (i don't know if you know him, it's this little vietnamin boy) was so drunk he doesn't remember anything<br /> anyway, i'm happy your visit to cattenom went well, sad i wasn't there, we'd have had a party ^^ nah, teachers don't like no party ;P<br /> what teacher were you happy to see ? did you have friends in cattenom ?<br /> gaaarh i have to take all those lessons, because i wasn't there for a week and then i didn't come on monday (too lazy to begin with a day that includes 3 hours of sciences and 2 hours of<br /> sports)<br /> so here i am, tired but i had fun ^^ and i stayed in bed for 4 days !! that was fabulous, ahhh ^^<br /> oh and today i had bad news: saez's concert at rockhal in november is sold out !!! that sucks, i was looking fowards to that !! ;((<br /> hey i was just reading the other comments, and !!! you bad teacheeer !!!<br /> 'nice to hearing from you' who made us tatoo our arms with 'to+bv' ?? a guy who writes 'to hearing from you'<br /> o my god !! :O<br /> hey talking about going back to school ^^ i remember one day i was in front of the school with my mum, and we saw you coming out of the building, and tons of kids surrounded you it was really funny<br /> ^^ mum thought you were a local celebrity or something like that, and i told her 'nah, that's an english teacher from my school'<br /> that was a funny moment. now i'm happy to be in high school, because people are a little more mature than in college, i feel a little better and don't have a 'poker face' in class ^^<br /> but then i'm waiting for university, this'll be great apparently ! i think those 3 years are the hardest in my life, it's awful. this year is ok, but then you see all those homework they have next<br /> year, you want to commit suicide ^^<br /> anyway, hope you're ok, had good holidays, now back to work, try not to do too many 'ponts' with all those days off (not like meee !!)<br /> take care !! ;D<br /> <br /> ps: don't watch the movie 'doomsday' it's awful, i thought it would be great, a bit horror and punk stuff, but it's the most gore movie i've ever seen !! ;( and the end is disappointing
Répondre
E
<br /> <br /> <br /> Oh you would be suprised to see that teachers love partying...(I don't know for Cattenom but here...it's impressive)after all we are humans (pupils tend to forget that notion)<br /> <br /> <br /> I'm happy to see all the teachers, of course I was more pleased to see the English team. It's hard to bond when you're only here one year (and the most difficult year because you have<br /> trainings, you have to create your courses....you're the newbie).<br /> <br /> <br /> So you didn't come on Monday....shame on you. If you were still my pupil, I woulda bashed you. Some pupils were on a schooltrip to Spain and they went back on Friday at 2pm and didn't show up<br /> the day after (yes we work on Saturdays) and I was so angry at them because they had time to catch up...well nevermind.<br /> <br /> <br /> Sorry about the spelling mistake, but are you sure that the sentence was not : looking forward to hearing from you?? Because strangely, it works that way. But if I wrote nice to hearing from,<br /> then shame on me.<br /> <br /> <br /> Why didn't you say to your mum I was a local celebrity (well in fact, when I think about it, I did was a celebrity). I remember the first time I met your father (remember me of a series) I was<br /> kinda impressed when he talked to me in English, I thought (how shit, one mistake and I'm screwed)<br /> <br /> <br /> Being mature depends on the persons, because I can assure you that some of my terminales are not at all adults....and in fact, I miss the unmatureness (the word doesn't exist but nevermind) of<br /> the collegiens. They are childish but really affective and give you in return. They are not those pupils who don't care about everything not matter how you try.<br /> <br /> <br /> Waiting for the university is great but enjoy your lycée years because it's great. But univeristy is the best period of one's life (I think) well it depends on what you want to do because I<br /> think that 2 years of prepa is kinda hard.<br /> <br /> <br /> I'm not doing any "bridges", I just don't work on mondays and wednesdays and we catch up some days. So in two weeks, I only teach 17 hours due to the bank holidays and some oral exams I had to<br /> correct. And of course at the end of the week: Metallica!!!<br /> <br /> <br /> Enjoy this period because it feels like it's already the holidays: the conseils de classe are close and then, 1 week off due to the bac, it's great because next years, you'll have the exams!<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
L
oh for a second i thought it would work out to see you on thursday, but i'll already be on the bus by there ^^ have to struggle with my big suitcase in the bus, gonna be great ! ;(<br /> hey when is the exposition in manderen ? looks fun ! i think ben is really interesting because he brought a new aspect of art, that you don't have to draw really good to be an artist, just let your<br /> imagination go.<br /> hey of course i know pop tarts !! they're fabulous !! except the burnt ones...<br /> about that book i talked about, careful, there are no 'taboos', so i was a bit shocked the first time, but then i thought why not ^^<br /> anyway, about politics, i only followed the french part. i know i wanted poutou to get to the second turn at least, but then, y'know, nobody likes radical stuff.<br /> i hope hollande will win, because sarko already stoll lots of money from stuff and didn't get judged because he's the president... anyway, we all know that nowadays, you want to be president for<br /> the money ;P<br /> yeah, i'd like to go back to london (great city with lots of energy !), and i know what you mean about hotels ^^ don't care about your little comfort, at least you see the town and are near stuff<br /> ;D<br /> hey i finished at 11 today, and i went to get my brother at 16.30 o'clock, and i saw a black clio going, and i thought 'oh my god is that him ? 0.0' like 'i just missed him !! >
Répondre
E
<br /> <br /> So how was your trip to Germany?<br /> <br /> <br /> My coming back to Cattenom was great, short, intense but great. I saw a lot of former 4èmes and a lot of teachers. It was nice.<br /> <br /> <br /> Well holidays are almost over but it's cool to think that I only have 2 days and a half to work and then a 4 days week end, then 4 days to work and a 5 days week end. I love May, you never work,<br /> it smells like the end of the school year.<br /> <br /> <br /> The exhibition (be careful, never talk about an exposition if you want to talk about an exhibition) is now and will last 'til July I think.<br /> <br /> <br /> For now, I'm reading, the book with no name, it's great, kinda Tarantino like, lots of dead, lots of bad guys fighting for a magical stone.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
L
da hell ?? you were good at boxing ? 0.0<br /> i'm more of a punching bag for the other students ^^ and the teacher (it was mme martin, but we have this young one since october or november) litteraly hates me. everytime i stop running, even if<br /> tons of pupils stopped running, i get shouted at, and she yells 'if you don't wanna run, stay at home, don't come here just to annoy me'<br /> i took boxe because all my friends wanted to do boxing, i wanted badminton because i have lots of strength in my arms, but for some reasons i can't punch people ^^<br /> and there was a boy i kinda liked and found cool doing boxing, we ended up dating (i dumped him after 2 days xD) and it turned up he was a total douche bag :D<br /> so that's always cool ^^<br /> oh so your bday is on the 10th of may ? ;D<br /> hey if you like learning things about english litterature and stuff, you won't learn lots of things, but it's worth it. it's a book i'm reading called 'marriage plot' written by jeffrey eugenides.<br /> basically, it's about 3 young adults who still study stuff, one is in sciences, one is in english litterature (gives you names of books you can read), and the other in the study of religion and the<br /> bible stuff ^^<br /> so if ever you want to check it out, it's cool because it gives you references in what to read, how to think,... fun<br /> anyway, yeah most people i know who went to Louvre say it sucks ^^ i'd love to go back to British museum and to Centre pompidou in paris !!<br /> but then i'm the only one i know (appart from you) who loves museums, so usually we go there briefly and everyone keeps moaning and winging they want to go home ^^<br /> last time i went there was with my class, few weeks ago, and we had dozens of extremely boring questions to do ^^ so i skipped this part, and went along, reading stuff, beeing amazed in front of<br /> things people don't even look at.<br /> best thing was this round room with all those papers on the walls, conversations and little drawings. and there was a cubic couch in the middle, i sat there, stretched out and there i was, staring<br /> at the ceiling, imagining i was hearing all the conversations ^^<br /> i guess people thought i was a loony, but i enjoyed myself, so i don't care ;P<br /> and i had friends who did the same, or were laughing at me, or saying they were bored,...<br /> i remember going in a museum and there was a very interesting painting: a white square, with only a black dot in its center. i thought 'what a lazy dude', because there was people laughing around<br /> me. but then i think about this, and find lots of meaning to this painting.<br /> but there, i'm getting boring ;D<br /> oh and i also have interest in politics recently (which is weird), and this time, i know it can't be a common point !<br /> hey, you're on holiday !!<br /> enjoy your holidays too, have some rest and get lessons prepared for your lazy students !! ^^
Répondre
E
<br /> Big announcement, I'll be at cattenom on this Thursday at 10 am so if some of you want to see me, I'll be here in the teacher's room. Well to answer you lauranne, yes it's on the 10th of may. I'm<br /> currently on holidays in Moselle, it feels so good to be back (strange typing with the qwerty keyboard of the iPad, not used to this). I'll try and go to the Ben exhibition at manderen but you<br /> know, every time I have so many things to do : eat a decent kebab because in Paris, they don't know how to do them, visit a pregnant friend, seeing a lot of friends, so one week is not<br /> enough...btw, on June I will attend devin townsend's gig in Paris, don't know if you know him, he's a crazy Canadian who plays death prog metal, he is so amazing that he can write a song about a<br /> cheeseburger....I'm planning too to go back to London in October (I so miss the city) and see if the easy hotels are convenient (cheap hotel where there is no window, no tv, small rooms but in the<br /> centre of London and at a low price). Glad to see you know the wonderful American word douche bag and you should check the etymology, it's really funny. Anyway, nowadays, I'm into bagels! Lots of<br /> bagel shops in Paris and they rock...and I love pop tarts, I don't know if you know it but if you don't, check it out! In fact I'm turning into a French teacher with an British accent but with a US<br /> vocabulary : blame it on my too much watching US series. Last month I did a how I met your mother marathon. This series is so awesome and there are a lot of things to say about it. I did some<br /> episodes in my stg class and they really liked it. It's the new "friends" for the English teachers. I'm into politics too but I followed more the last US and French elections, going on meetings in<br /> metz...'twas fun. Anyway got to go, see you on Thursday morning for the others and see you one day for lauranne<br /> <br /> <br />
L
yo !<br /> hey i had to do sports on my bday !!<br /> i had from 8 to 18, had 1 hour to eat abnd had 2 hours of sports (boxing, yaaay...) when is yours ? i could spam your blog ;D<br /> yeah i'll give you a sign if ever we need a second synthé player ;)or if there is a problem with our player ^^<br /> it's hard for her to get here, because she lives in esch and her father is a bit weird ^^<br /> do you have a band ? i thought you had one ^.^<br /> i still wonder why you wanted to be a teacher x) it must be firetrucking boring ! (firetruck: starts with f and ends with -uck ;D)= smosh ! funny thing on youtube ^^<br /> anyway, heading off to belgium for a couple of days, with my dad ^^<br /> going to visit caves !! i love caves ! and cool museums (yes, a museum can be cool), for example centre pompidou ! :D<br /> anyway, you still have a day to work and you're on holidayy ! yayy !!<br /> i have this week and next week, and theen... back to schoool...<br /> hey no wonder you know mme muller, she's older than dirt !!<br /> hahaha i'm lucky not to have her !!<br /> haa talking about school, it's a bit cool these days ! i have 3 days, most of my teachers are on a trip in italy, so i finish early (8 to 10 on wednesday)<br /> then i go to germany ( i never get anywhere else with school !), then there are lots of free days, and summer holidays !!<br /> yaaayy !!<br /> wanted to go to waligator, but i saw the weather and thought 'maybe not...' ^^<br /> well, talk to ya later ;D
Répondre
E
<br /> <br /> <br /> Boxing at school?? Rock on!!! I did boxing when I was in 3ème with the best teacher of the world Mme Martin (I think she is your teacher) and as I am a karateka (brown belt, I dropped before<br /> getting the black...what a pity) I just kicked the sh...outta the entire school (and the teacher just loved me....)<br /> <br /> <br /> My Bday is 2 days before armageddon at the stade de france : Metallica and the Black Album!!!!<br /> <br /> <br /> I haven't got a band, got one when I was in terminale but due to some conflicts during a gig (some members invited drunk friends on stage and it turned into something nasty....) we split...but<br /> it was a great experience, I had the chance to play at "Chez Paulette", a small concert hall where Zaz, Jean Louis Aubert, Louis Bertignac, Ange and a lot of other French rockers went. A night<br /> to remember. Having a band is great but it's exhausting, caring your 20 kg of keys, packing out, wiring everything, standing during 3 hours....but it's worth it.<br /> <br /> <br /> Why I wanted to be a teacher? Don't know in fact, I was always good at English, in fact it was the easiest subject. But I don't know if you're aware of this but it was my second language at<br /> school in fact...well I was in a bilingual class during the "collège" and during the "lycée" the groups were mixed....But I took my bac with English as a LV2... And of course, I did a term S,<br /> option SI with spé maths :p the normal way to be a teacher of course!!! Then after passing my baccalauréat with mention TB, I was to go to a CPGE (PTSI, the hardest : 10 hours of physics, 10<br /> hours of maths and 10 hours of Engineering Sciences)...I did, during 2 weeks and then I thought I wasn't made for this so I took a leap of faith (I love that expression, impossible to translate<br /> it into French) and I went to college....that was the best decision of all my life : during 4 years it was so fullfilling (one "l" two "l"?? I never know how to spell it) and I had so much fun.<br /> So after college, becoming a teacher was a normal way (after all, my entire family is composed of maths teachers...ok no English teachers...but I have never done things like the others). But I<br /> didn't realise how energy demanding it was...last year it was great with you guys, I had a hell of a time (positive) but this year, it's really hard, so demanding, I'm kidda schizophrenic<br /> (sometimes I'm happy, then one class is a pain in the arse and then I'm depressed). I really want to do a doctorate (studying the dystopias in English literature) because what is annoying (I<br /> think) is the lack of new knowledge, being a teacher : you spend your life teacher, but You never learn, and what I loved about going to university was learning a lot of things (Shakespeare,<br /> Nabokov, US history....)...but it's hard to go back to studies and it would mean that I had to quit my job, so no more salary.....anyway, that was a long story<br /> <br /> <br /> I see that we have one more common point (after awesomeness, loving metal and English) : museums : I love museum and especially modern art : I visited 10 min the Pompidou Paris, because I had<br /> not the time, I did the Centre Pompidou Metz (amazing museum), the three museums in Madrid (awesome!!!!), the National (Portrait) Gallery, the British Museum, the Museum of Vatican, the Louvre<br /> (which was disappointing in a way) and I so want to visit the MoMa (it's my dream) and the Guggenheim.<br /> <br /> <br /> I didn't have one day to work as I work on saturdays!!!!! That sucks, but I will go back to school on Thrusday the 3rd because I never work on Monday and Wednesday and of course the 1st of May<br /> is a Tuesday!!<br /> <br /> <br /> So enjoy your holidays, while you have some days left and good luck for the big marathon to July (and it's only getting worse, next years you'll have the bac, the exams....)<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />  <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
L
wednesday the bus doesn't go near school, but i could be there by 1oclock... but then it's a bit late ^^<br /> my english teacher is mm milazzo-girard<br /> do you know mme muller ? german teacher i am lucky enough not to have ^^<br /> hahaha i can imagine you running accross the corridors ^^<br /> omg huston we have a problem (marshaaall) (eminem song, btw^^)<br /> so cool you are... working ^^<br /> i have to work and it's boooriing !!<br /> oh i finally found a guitarist for my new group !<br /> hahaha you're gonna laugh ^^ it's thomas xDD<br /> and we're going to play skillet - monster with a synthé, drums and a guitar, and maybe a singer, but i don't think so ^^^<br /> well, hope to see you someday and that you go to concerts and disneyland ;DD
Répondre
E
<br /> <br /> Ok so we'll figure out next time.<br /> <br /> <br /> I don't know your English teacher but I know the German teacher. It's sad when you realise that more than 50% of the teachers you knew back then are no longer at<br /> your school anymore, it's the end of a time.<br /> <br /> <br /> Cool to know that Thomas is playing on your band...at least there is one thing he can do pretty well....just kidding, Thomas has always been a smart guy but his<br /> lazyness was a drag...I remember him getting a 14/20 on his oral exam even if he didn't work during my catch up classes.<br /> <br /> <br /> Me going to gigs and disneyland, you bet! Next is Metallica |m|, Devin Townsend (God) and maybe Marillion next year. Waiting for Iron Maiden to come to France and<br /> you can be sure, I'll be attending the show.<br /> <br /> <br /> Oh, btw, with my 1L we are starting Ireland and guess what we are going to study??? Flogging Molly and The Pogues!!! I have to find some satisfaction in teaching in<br /> a "lycée".<br /> <br /> <br /> And I'm realising that it's the holidays for you, you lucky! I still have a week to waste and then two weeks off. And what is cool : I don't work on Monday and<br /> Wednesday so can you imagine the length of the week end with the holidays of May??? But unfortunately, I'll have to work from 9 to 18 on the day of my birthday and that really sucks!<br /> <br /> <br /> Enjoy your holidays and your recovery from the chocolate slaughter of Easter....<br /> <br /> <br /> And if you need a good keyboard player (yes synthé doesn't exist...or synthesizer but I hate the word, too hard to pronounce), give me a sign!<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />